Cœurs des sciences


Organigramme : Préparation:

Français I English

Réseau Québécois en reproduction

May 2013, Volume 6, Number 5

Volunteer for SSR 2013

A conference on endocrine disruptors given by Cathy Vaillancourt and Daniel Cyr will take place at the Cœurs des sciences on June 5th 2013 at 19h00.


Organochlorines, PBDEs, phthalates, bisphenol A ... Are endocrine disruptors satisfied with affecting individuals, or do they also affect their descendants?


More information (in French)


Registration (Free but mandatory)

During the SSR meeting, trainee volunteers are responsible for the behind the scenes action, including help with:


Pre-Registration Desk, Slide Preview Room, Signage, Placement Service, Posters, Sessions and Symposia

Social Events, and the Trainee-Mentor Luncheon.


SSR is especially committed to enhancing the trainee experience; therefore, if you plan to attend the meeting, we strongly urge you to take advantage of this opportunity to participate as a trainee volunteer. It’s a great way to meet peers and network with influential scientists in our field!


To volunteer, please visit the SSR Annual Meeting Website and fill out the volunteer questionnaire. For additional information contact us via the email addresses listed below:


Sadhat Walusimbi, Ph.D., Chair: swalusimbi@gmail.com

Jane Fenelon, Ph.D., Co-Chair: janefenelon@gmail.com


See you in Montréal!

Congratulations to all the Spring 2013 RQR-CREATE Scholars!


Eighteen RQR trainees received a RQR-CREATE
scholarship in the Spring 2013 competition. A total of 155 000$ was awarded to (trainee, position, supervisor):


· Mahmoud Aarabi, PDF, Jacquetta Trasler

· Audrey Allard, MSc, Nicolas Gévry

· Raheleh Aram, PhD, Daniel Cyr

· Jean-Sébastien Bérubé, Summer student, Robert Viger

· Suzanne Demers, MSc, Emmanuel Bujold

· Tam Duong, Summer student, Vassilios Papadopoulos

· Lydia Edjekouane, PhD, André Tremblay

· Gabriel Garon, PhD, Jacques J. Tremblay

· Hilda Guerrero, MSc, Christopher A. Price

· Jovane Hamelin, Summer student, Carlos Reyes-Moreno

· Julien Massonneau, MSc, Guylain Boissonneault

· Lain Ohlweiler, PhD, Vilceu Bordignon

· Habib Saadi, PhD, Claude Robert

· Yasmin Schuermann, MSc, Rajesha Duggavathi

· Keith Siklenka, PhD, Sarah Kimmins

· Olivier Simard, PhD, Guylain Boissonneault

· Frederic-Karl Vieux, PhD, Hugh Clarke

· Evan Wallace, Summer student, Rima Slim


Awardees who declined the scholarship because of another award:

· Charlène Rico, PDF, Derek Boerboom

· Geneviève Plante, Puttaswamy Manjunath

RQR Scholars

Science Editors’ Choice

An article on embryonic diapause with authors including Pavine Lefebvre, Jane Fenelon and Bruce D. Murphy was selected as Editors’ Choice in the May 17th issue of Science.


Link to Editors’ Choice


Link to original article


Registration for SSR 2013

You have until May 31st to take advantage of the reduced registration fee for the 2013 SSR meeting. The meeting is hosted by the RQR and will take place on July 22-26 at the Palais des congrès in Montréal.

Click here to register!

We hope to see you there!

To remove your name from the distribution list, click here.

Questions or comments ? Send us an e-mail at  eliane.auger@umontreal.ca or call 450-773-8521 extension 8286

Financed by: