Greg FitzHarris, PhD

13 Oct 2017

Address

Research interests

  • Oocyte development
  • Cell division
  • Embryogenesis

A leading cause of infertility is a defect in the woman’s egg (oocyte) that causes it to have the wrong number of chromosomes. These so-called ‘aneuploid’ oocytes cause developmental conditions such as Down’s, and can lead to pregnancy loss. These errors become increasingly common with advancing maternal age, and are therefore a major reason why older women experience difficulties establishing a healthy pregnancy.

The part of the cell responsible for maintaining the correct chromosome number is the spindle – a complex biological machine that gathers and sorts chromosomes at the time of cell division, and dispatches them to the two daughter cells in a process termed chromosome segregation. Why chromosome segregation often goes wrong in oocytes is poorly understood. Once the oocyte is fertilized the first several cell divisions in the newly forming embryo are also highly prone to chromosome miss-segregation. These embryonic errors are also associated with decreased fertility, but their causes and consequences remain obscure.

Members of the laboratory

Karolina Kravarikova, BSc
MSc student
karolina.kravarikova@umontreal.ca

Henry Brennan-Craddock, BSc
MSc student
henrybcraddock@gmail.com

Adélaïde Allais, MSc
PhD student
adelaide.allais@orange.fr

Yin Lin, MSc
PhD student
yinlin0227@gmail.com

Lia Paim, MSc
PhD student
liag.paim@gmail.com

Gaudeline Remillard-Labrosse, PhD
Research assistant
gaudeline.remillard.chum@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Filip Vasilev, PhD
Postdoc
fvasilev@yahoo.com

Aleksandar Mihajlovic, PhD
Postdoc
aleksandar.mihajlovic00@gmail.com

Publications

Daniel J. Bernard, PhD

13 Oct 2017

Address

Research interests

  • Transcriptional regulation of follicle-stimulating hormone synthesis
  • Mechanisms of GnRH action
  • Molecular mechanisms of IGSF1-deficiency syndrome

The Bernard’s lab investigates molecular mechanisms of pituitary hormone synthesis using in vitro and in vivo approaches.

Research in the lab concerns:

1) signal transduction mechanisms through which members of the transforming growth factor β superfamily regulate pituitary follicle-stimulating hormone (FSH) synthesis,

2) mechanisms of gonadotropin-releasing hormone (GnRH) signaling in pituitary gonadotrope cells.

3) hypothalamic-pituitary control of thyroid hormone production.

Members of the laboratory

Evan Buddle
Undergraduate student

Ruobing Chen
Undergraduate student

Yangfan Jin, BSc
Master student
yangfan.jin@mail.mcgill.ca

Yue-Farn (Claire) Lin, MSc
PhD student
Yeu-farn.lin@mail.mcgill.ca

Mary Loka, MSc
PhD student

Hailey Schultz, MSc
PhD student
Hailey.scultz@mail.mcgill.ca

Courtney Smith, MSc
PhD student
courtney.smith2@mail.mcgill.ca

Emilie Brule, MSc
PhD student
emilie.brule2@mail.mcgill.ca

Carlos-Agustin Alonso, PhD
Postdoc
Carlos.alonso@gmail.com

Ying Wang, BSc
Laboratory technician
ywdearfriends@yahoo.com

Xiang Zhou, MSc
Laboratory technician
xiang.zhou3@mcgill.ca

Luisina Ongaro, PhD
Research associate
luisina.ongarogambino@mcgill.ca

Publications

Eric Asselin, PhD

13 Oct 2017

Address

Research interests

  • Uterine and ovarian biology, physiology and endocrinology
  • Hormone-dependent cancers of the female reproductive system
  • Animal models and transgenesis

Dr. Asselin’s research laboratory is interested understanding the regulation of cell survival and cell death in the context of embryo implantation, endometrial decidualization and in pathological conditions such as chemoresistance in gynecological cancers (endometrial and ovarian). More precisely, his laboratory has been actively investigating the PI-3K/Akt pathway in this context. Animal models, transgenic mouse human biopsies, cell lines are used in his laboratory to study this signaling pathway at the cellular and molecular level. His laboratory include 1 research professional, 1 postdoctoral fellow, 3 PhD students and 2 MSc students. For the last 16 years, he has trained more than 75 undergraduate and graduate students and postdoctoral fellows. His group has published more than 92 publications in peer-review international scientific journals, with a citation impact factor of 37 (H factor). He was recipient of a FRQS chercheur-boursier, a CIHR New Investigator Award and the Canada Research Chair in Molecular Gyneco-oncology from 2006 to 2016.

Members of the laboratory

Francois Fabi, MSc
PhD student
francois.fabi@uqtr.ca

Pascal Adam, MSc
PhD student
pascal.adam@uqtr.ca

Laurence Tardif, BSc
PhD student
laurence.tardif@uqtr.ca

Muhammad Nadeem Asghar, PhD
Postdoc
Muhammad.Nadeem.Asghar2@uqtr.ca

Dadou LOKENGO LIKONZA MD / Gynécologue-Obstétricien
PhD student
dadoulokengo@yahoo.fr

Junie Chansi, MSc
PhD student
junye3@gmail.com

Sophie Parent, MSc
Research assistant
sophie.parent@uqtr.ca

Publications

Derek Boerboom, DVM, PhD

11 Jun 2016

Address

Research interests

  • Roles of developmental signaling pathways in gonadal physiology
  • Cancers of the reproductive system
  • Transgenesis and functional genomics

Our primary field of interest is the role played by developmental signaling pathways in the functioning of the ovary. Pathways such as Wnt, Hippo and Slit/Robo are best known for their critical roles in a variety of tissues and cell types during embryonic development. It has become apparent, however, that these “developmental” pathways are also active in adult life, and their roles in this context are only beginning to become known. Using a functional genomics approach, our group has shown that the Wnt pathway is a key player in the ovary, acting downstream of the gonadotropins to regulate follicle survival, growth and ovulation. Current research projects are also examining the role of Hippo signaling in ovary and testis, as well as in the development of different cancers of the reproductive system, including the ovary, uterus and mammary gland.

Members of the laboratory

Florine Grudet, BSc
PhD student
florine.grudet@umontreal.ca

Philippe Godin, DVM
PhD student
phil.godin0934@gmail.com

Michael Bérubé
DVM/MSc student
michael.berube@umontreal.ca

Francis Marien-Bourgeois
Lab technician
francis.marien-bourgeois@umontreal.ca

1 2 3

Search

+