Vardit Ravitsky, PhD

Associate Professor, Université de Montréal

research axis 3

Address

Research interest

  • Bioethics, reproductive ethics, health policy
  • Reproductive technologies
  • Genetics / genomics

Prof. Ravitsky’s research focuses on reproductive ethics and the ethics of genetic and genomics research. Her research projects are funded by CIHR, FRQSC, SSHRC, and Genome Canada and cover a variety of topics such as: public funding of In-Vitro Fertilization (IVF); the use of surplus frozen embryos; posthumous reproduction; pre-implantation genetic diagnosis (PGD); sperm and egg donation, in particular the interest of donor-conceived individuals in knowing their genetic origins; epigenetics; prenatal testing, in particular the ethical, social and legal aspects of Non-Invasive Prenatal Testing (NIPT); germline and somatic gene editing; and mitochondrial replacement.

Her research interests in bioethics also include research ethics, health policy and cultural perspectives. She is particularly interested in the various ways in which cultural frameworks shape public debate and public policy in the area of bioethics. She published over 100 articles, book chapters and commentaries on bioethical issues, and is lead-editor of “The Penn Center Guide to Bioethics“.

Members of the laboratory

Dorit Barlevy
PhD student
dorit.barlevy@unibas.ch

Aliya Affdal
PhD student
affdal-aliya@orange.fr

Stephanie Cote
PhD student
stephanie.cote.chum@ssss.gouv.qc.ca

Hazar Haidar
PhD student
hazar.haidar@umontreal.ca

Marie-Eve Lemoine
PhD student
lemoine.marieeve@gmail.com

Doudenkova Victoria
PhD student
victoria.doudenkova@umontreal.ca

Julien Brisson
PhD student
julien.brisson@umontreal.ca

Cynthia Henriksen
MSc student
cynthiahenriksen@gmail.com

Amine Zoughlami
MSc student
amine.zoughlami@mcgill.ca

Stanislav Birko
MSc student
stanislav.birko@mcgill.ca

Publications