Vardit Ravitsky, PhD

Professor, Université de Montréal and Senior Lecturer, Harvard Medical School

research axis 3

Address

Research interest

  • Bioethics, reproductive ethics, health policy
  • Reproductive technologies
  • Genetics / genomics

Vardit Ravitsky is Full Professor at the Bioethics Program, School of Public Health, University of Montreal and part-time Senior Lecturer on Global Health and Social Medicine at Harvard Medical School. She is President of the International Association of Bioethics and Director of Ethics and Health at the Center for Research on Ethics. She is a 2020 Trudeau Foundation Fellow and Chair of the Foundation’s COVID-19 Impact Committee, as well as Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences and of the Hastings Center. She is member of the Standing Committee on Ethics of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and of the Institute Advisory Board of CIHR’s Institute of Genetics. She is also member of the National Human Genome Research Institute’s (NHGRI) Genomics & Society Working Group. Her research focuses on the ethics of genomics and reproduction and is funded by Canada’s leading funding agencies. She published over 170 articles and commentaries on bioethical issues. Ravitsky’s research covers a variety of topics such as: public funding of In-Vitro Fertilization (IVF); the use of surplus frozen embryos; posthumous reproduction; pre-implantation genetic diagnosis (PGD); gamete donation; epigenetics; prenatal testing, in particular the ethical, social and legal aspects of Non-Invasive Prenatal Testing (NIPT); germline and somatic gene editing; and mitochondrial replacement.

Members of the laboratory

Andréa Daigle, BSc
MSc student
andrea.daigle@umontreal.ca

Marie-Françoise Malo, BSc
MSc student
marie-francoise.malo@umontreal.ca

My An Nguyen, BSc
MSc student
my.an.nguyen@umontreal.ca

Tierry Morel-Laforce, MSc
PhD student
tierry.morel-laforce@umontreal.ca

Aliya Affdal, MSc
PhD student
oulaya.affdal@umontreal.ca

Stanislav Birko, MSc
PhD student
stanislav.birko@umontreal.ca

Erika Kleiderman, MSc
PhD student
erika.kleiderman.1@umontreal.ca

Marie-Eve Lemoine, MSc
PhD student
marie-eve.lemoine@umontreal.ca

Julien Brisson, MSc
PhD student
julien.brisson@umontreal.ca

Ido Alon, PhD
Postdoc
idoalon77@gmail.com

Orit Cherny Golan, PhD
Postdoc
ch.golan.orit@gmail.com

Publications